This is version . It is not the current version, and thus it cannot be edited.
[Back to current version]   [Restore this version]

See also : About Users, Managing Users - An Overview, Managing Users, Managing User Groups, Editing Field Permissions, Configuring User Type Capabilities , Using a show statement

What is a user type?
A user type is a user profile characterized by a set of role-based permissions. A user type defines a set of capabilities.


What is a Persona?
A persona is an archetype representing the needs and goals of a particular group of users. A persona, when defined in the user type, drives the permissions to view fields and screens in the system.
Can I change the persona of a user type once it is saved?
Yes, but the capabilities assigned to the user type re-sets to the default capabilities.
Can I change the persona without changing the capabilities?
If you do not want to copy the default capabilities, the recommended way is to create a new user type by copying the existing user type.

What are User Groups and Types?
Refer to About Users.


Who is an Active user type?
The user type that is available for use.
Can I change the state of a user from Active to Inactive?
Yes, if there are no active users associated with this user type.


When can I delete a user type?
You can delete a user type only if no users of this type are available in the system.
Does copying a user type to create a new user type copy the permissions associated to it?
Yes.

Introduction

A user type is a user profile characterized by a set of role-based permissions. A user type defines a set of permissions. The Manage User Types screen allows you to add and edit user types and set user type permissions.

This screen enables:



How to access

To open manage User Type screen, do the following:

Step Action
1. Click jobs_code_list.png in the Global Toolbar.
The Managing System Settings screen appears.
2. Click Users_Tab.png.
3. From the Show Statement Show list box, select User Types if not already selected.
The Manage Users - User Types screen displays with the details of the first user type in the right pane. Note: 1. The show statement displays the screen name you last viewed before logging off the system.
2. You can view the User Types option in the show statement only if you have the required access rights.

Adding a user type#

To add a user type, do the following:

Step Action
1. Click Add_note.png in the Manage User Type screen.
The Manage User Type screen appears with blank fields.
2. Type the Name and the Description of the User Type. Select the Persona is an archetype representing the needs and goals of a particular group of users; Deity, Administrator, Hiring Manager, Recruiting Manager, Recruiter, and Vendor are the personas in the system.
3. Click save.png.
The system saves the User Type and displays the name in the right pane.

Setting user type permissions #

Permissions must be given to you to enable you to operate the system. There are various categories of permissions. These are:

  • Job Requisitions
  • Applicant
  • Administration
  • Screening and Assessment
  • Activities
  • Tasks
  • Reports


To set permissions for the selected user, do the following:

Step Action
1. To go to a particular category block, do one of the following:
1. Click the required category link given below the User Type header.
2. Scroll to the required category in the Permissions block.
2. Each category has a number of sub-categories. Click Expand_permissions.png to expand the sub-category further. Click Collapse_permissions.png to collapse the category.
The list of individual permissions related to the sub-category displays.
3. To select the individual permissions, select each permission by clicking the check box or radio button.
Note: Clearing the check box disables the child controls under the selected category. Child control data will not be saved.
4. Follow steps for setting permissions for each category.


Copying user type details #

You can copy an existing user type's details to create a new user type. To copy, do the following:

Step Action
1. Click Copy.png .
The details of the selected user type is copied to a new page but the user type Name field is blank.

Saving user type #

To save the changes made on the page, do the following:

Step Action
1. Click save.png. The system saves the user type and displays the user type in the left pane.

Deleting a user type #

To delete a user type, do the following:

Step Action
1. Select the user type that you want to delete from the left pane. Click Delete.png .
Note: You can delete the currently displayed user type only if no users of this type are available in the system.

Introduction

The information in the Manage User Type screen displays in two panes:

  • Left Pane: Displays the User Type list with the details of the first user type in the right pane.
  • Right pane: Displays two sections: The User Type details section and the Permissions section. The User Type section displays the details of the user type selected in the User Type List, whereas the Permissions section is used for setting capability-wise permissions for the user type.
Illustration
Mngusertype.png

Screen details

The section descriptions are given below:

User Type List

Displays the list of user types in the system.

User Type Header

Field Description
Title The user type's name.
Capability groups: Job Requisitions, Applicants, Administration, Screening & Assessment, Activities, Tasks, Reports The capability groups based on the given permissions.
Active The user type's status: active or inactive.
Note: You cannot change an active user type to inactive if there are any active users with this user type.
Click this to add the user type.
Click this to copy the details of the selected user type with the user type name blank.
Click this to save any changes made to the user type.
Click this to delete the user type.

User Type

Field Description
Name Displays the name of the selected user type in Edit mode.
Description The description of the selected user type.
PersonaDetermines the user type with the core persona.

Permissions
Field Description
Expands the section and the blocks in each section.
Collapses the section and the blocks in each section.
NameThe name of the capability group.

Add new attachment

Only authorized users are allowed to upload new attachments.
« This particular version was published on 05-Mar-2009 16:24 by 220.225.226.38.